Add your thoughts here… (optional)

Many Politics

I was taught to see racism only in individual acts of meanness, not in invisible systems conferring dominance on my group
– Peggy McIntosh

This piece was originally written as a response to a local group that was accused of racism, and failed to address it.  I updated it because I’ve heard lots of the same arguments about ‘equality’ and ‘divisiveness’ since then, and I wanted to revisit these arguments myself.  Racism is thought to be a distraction, a divisive issue, or a prejudice held by ‘those people’ ‘out there’ (but not by me).  For anyone who has spent a bunch of time reading about or working on anti-racism and white privilege, reading this might be a waste of your time.  I’m not writing to anti-oppression activists; I’m writing to myself five or six years ago, when I believed in equality and fairness, and saw all this “identity” stuff as…

View original post 1,641 more words

Leave a Reply

